The Young Project Manager of the Year 2016 announced!

On Saturday, 17th of September 2016, Young Project Manager of the Year 2016 Award was officially closed.

The IPMA Young Project Manager Award (YPMY) is awarded annually to recognize and motivate young project management professionals around the world. Introduced in 2006 at the IPMA Young Crew conference in Shanghai, China, the IPMA Young Project Manager Award recognizes rising talent in the project and program management industries by honoring young project managers for their accomplishments early in their careers. The Award was open to professional project managers aged 18 to 35 years at the time of entry.

Young Project Manager of the Year Award final has taken part from 15th to 17th September, and it was organized by International Project Management Association Young Crew.

This year Award gathered the best young project managers from all over the world. In total, 7 project managers from Russia, Malaysia, Guatemala, South Africa, Australia, Kazakhstan and Croatia submitted their applications.
An international jury selected the finalists after long discussion rounds and evaluation of the submissions for the Award. The panel of judges was composed of:

  • Antonio Andrade Dias, Portugal – APOGEP Founder and Board President, IPMA Governance Team Member, IPMA Delta Foreigner Assessor
  • Iris Hauck- Rameis, Austria – Assessor for national and international Project Management awards
  • Ivars Rungis, Latvia – President of Latvian National Project Management Association, IPMA Member of Council of Delegates
  • Eleni Tsechelidou, Greece – Assessor for the IPMA International Project Excellence Award

At the end of the Global Young Crew Workshop in Porto, Portugal, during the gala dinner, IPMA Young Crew announced Barend Daniel Peters, from South Africa, as the winner of the Young Project Manager Award 2016. Silver winner is Elena Zagorenko from Australia, while bronze winner is Andrej Hanzir from Croatia.

Winners were awarded, during the Award ceremony, by Dr. Jesus Martinez Almela, Vice president, Education & Training, Young Crew, Dr. Mladen Vukomanovic, Chairman of the IPMA Young Crew Management and Suvi Luukkonen, Member of YC Management Board, Project Owner of Young Project Manager of The Year 2016, Head of Marketing.

Organizing team of this year Award consists of Suvi Luukkonen. Project Owner, Bikash Dhar, Project Manager, Katia Sorochuk, Jury Coordinator & PM Trainee and Milica Pavicevic, who was in charge for Marketing.

We are looking forward to the new, even better and unforgettable Young Project Manager of the Year Award!

Until next year,
Organizing team #YPMY2016